I’m a good person, but…

Posted on

Mark 10:17-18: As He was setting out on a journey, a man ran up to Him and knelt before Him, and asked Him, “Good Teacher, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?” And Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone.”

Jesus Christ Himself in response to being called “good” said there is NO ONE good but God.” With this, it is clear that when anyone makes a statement for whatever reason of “I’m a good person, but…” they are already on a path to miss the grace of God. I hear it all the time in counseling. They discuss their sin of whatever they’re dealing with and then follow up with “But I’m a good person.”

My response to everyone who says such a thing is simply this: “There is NO ONE GOOD but GOD. Why do you presume to call yourself good?” If we would begin recognize and willingly admit and accept that there is zero good in any of us outside of Christ’s life active through us, we would begin to position ourselves to receive the abundance and fullness of Christ here on earth. Unfortunately, to admit such a fact requires one to look at the bitter truth about themselves. It requires the utmost level of humility which a rare few choose to do. Let’s face it, no one wants to think of themselves as wicked through and through – yet outside of Christ, we all are.

Yet, if we don’t face such truth, we can never fully receive the grace, love, and mercy for which Christ died. He died for sinful man, not for the “good ones.” If any of us were good, death and redemption would not be required. Satan takes God’s truths and distorts them making them into an insult instead of merely a fact. Without the knowledge of Christ, to think of ourselves as not good, aka evil, we fall into a pit of despair and depression. But, when we see the facts outside of emotionalism we are better able to handle truth.

This applies to me as much as anyone. When people say to me “you’re such a good person,” I immediately correct them as I, in and of myself, am no better or greater than the murderer on death row; not because I murdered someone, but because the sin nature from Adam for which Christ gave His life is equally in me as the murderer. It’s a matter of facts, not what makes me feel good or bad.

E.g. if my shirt is red and someone says, “Hey, your blouse is red,” if I am not emotional, it is in no way an insult, but merely a fact and I am in no way insulted or hurt. However, if I am emotionally charged and already insecure about the color of my top, the comment becomes insulting and I am offended.

This is a simple concept, yet altogether difficult to comprehend because the flesh of mankind wants to make itself feel better all the time. If I go around thinking myself a good person, I am not able to accept the magnitude of the sin nature for which Christ died, therefore unable to receive the fullness of His gift of redemption. I’m too busy excusing sin acts based on, “But I’m a good person otherwise.” We must begin to see the filth of the nature of the flesh, choose the death of the flesh for which Christ buried with Him, and then receive the newness of life that we all desperately need. Now, when someone tries to insult me with “You’re no good!” it bears no emotional meaning because I know as a fact that, outside of the life of Christ, they’re correct.

After all, why would we want to receive a new life in Christ if they’re okay with the old one? There is no one good but God.

If you are interested in reading more, check out my website to order my books, or go to my Facebook ministry page where I post regularly. Blessings!

Alexys V. Wolf
http://www.thefierysword.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Fiery-Sword-Global-Ministries/185299884822251
https://thefierysword.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

